Agree with Manchester United: coach Erik ten Hag before leaving Ajax

New coach from 2022/23?

This article was first published on April 6, following reports from ESPN and The Times, and was updated on the 12th with new information from The Athletic

According to information from “ESPN‘ Manchester United’s new coach for the coming season. Like the English newspaperTheTimes“ However, wrote on Thursday last week, things were far from ready at that point. The 52-year-old wanted “assurances” from the English record champions. The well-connected portal “The Athletic” at. “ESPN” had first reported on a basic agreement. Ten Hag is to receive a long-term contract, according to The Athletic over four years. However, a signature is not to be expected before the Dutch Cup final on April 17th.

Since Ole Gunnar Solskjaer left last November, the “Red Devils” have been coached by Ralf Rangnick on an interim basis until the end of the season. The Times wrote that it was important for ten Hag to get a full picture of the situation at Old Trafford. It was not clear at this point whether he would actually take on the job. Now the signs are obviously positive.

Ten Hag is currently under contract with Ajax Amsterdam until 2023. The coach has won the league and cup twice with the Eredivisie leaders since taking office in December 2017, and also led Ajax to the semi-finals of 2018/19 and the round of 16 of the current season. According to the broadcaster’s report, Man United will pay the Amsterdamers 2 million euros.

Xavi in ​​top 15: The most expensive coaches in the world – Bundesliga 5x represented

12. Julian Nagelsmann (2019) – transfer fee: 5 million euros

&copy imago images

TSG Hoffenheim -> RB Leipzig

12. Xavi (2021) – fee €5m

&copy imago images

Al Sadd -> FC Barcelona
The sum should be paid in equal parts by FCB and Xavi.

12. Peter Bosz (2017) – fee: 5 million euros

&copy imago images

Ajax Amsterdam -> BVB

11. Marco Rose (2021) – transfer fee: over 5 million euros

&copy imago images

Borussia Monchengladbach -> BVB

10. Maurizio Sarri (2019) – fee: 5.55 million euros

&copy imago images

Chelsea -> Juventus

9. Ronald Koeman (2015) – Fee: €6m

&copy imago images

Southampton FC -> Everton FC

7. Mark Hughes (2008) – fee: €6.2m

&copy imago images

Blackburn Rovers -> Manchester City

7. Brendan Rodgers (2012) – fee: 6.2 million euros

&copy imago images

Swansea City -> Liverpool FC

6. Adi Hütter (2021) – transfer fee: 7.5 million euros

&copy imago images

Eintracht Frankfurt -> Borussia Monchengladbach

5. Rúben Amorim (2020) – fee: 10 million euros

&copy imago images

Braga -> Sporting Lisbon

4. Brendan Rodgers (2019) – fee: 10.44 million euros

&copy imago images

Celtic -> Leicester City

3. André Villas-Boas (2011) – fee: 15 million euros

&copy imago images

FC Porto -> FC Chelsea

2. José Mourinho (2010) – fee: 16 million euros

&copy imago images

Inter Milan -> Real Madrid

1. Julian Nagelsmann (2021) – transfer fee: over 20 million euros

&copy imago images

RB Leipzig -> FC Bayern | If Bayern win the double twice by 2026, the transfer fee will increase to 25 million euros (source: Kicker). Update October 24: According to advisor Volker Struth, Bayern paid just over 20 million euros.

“You know each other in the industry. There are always talks with representatives from other clubs, that’s normal. Manchester United is a great club with great fans. But I can only repeat myself: My full focus is completely on Ajax! Incidentally, we are already planning for the new season,” ten Hag had recently replied to the rumors in the “Sport1” interview. “I’ve sat down with Ajax after every season so far. That will also be the case this time. I can say that Ajax and Erik ten Hag are currently very happy together.”

Ten Hag before moving to Manchester United: Experienced assistant on the side?

According to English media reports, Hag should have an experienced assistant coach. Ex-Wolfsburg coach Steve McClaren, who worked in this role under Alex Ferguson from 1999 to 2001, and René Meulensteen, who also belonged to the Ferguson team from 2007 to 2013, were named as candidates.

To home page

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button